

25 October 2017

Professor Michael Dooley
Federal President
The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia
PO Box 1774
Collingwood VIC 3066
Via email: shpa@shpa.org.au

Dear Professor Dooley,

Re: Standardised opioid management plans on hospital discharge

We are writing to the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) to seek your support in improving discharge planning for patients on opioid therapy.

You are no doubt aware of the issues related to opioids in Australia and that opioid misuse and abuse can start in the hospital setting. Patients with genuine acute pain are being discharged without appropriate long-term opioid management plans. In addition, some patients with chronic pain have their opioids inappropriately increased during their inpatient stay.

The RACGP is set to release guidance for GPs on opioid therapy. One section of this guidance concerns clinical governance and the adoption of clinical handover standards in hospitals for patients with opioid therapy. The RACGP is asking the SHPA and other medical bodies to consider intervention in this area. We suggest that hospital pharmacists adopt a higher standard for medication discharge when patients are on opioid therapy.

Essentially, we believe that clinical handover should meet the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care's standards, and that a standardised opioid management plan should be provided. The management plan should entail a reason for prescribing, plans for tapering or cessation, and suitable warnings if high dose opioids (e.g. >100mg) are being prescribed.

General practitioners place a high value on hospital discharge summaries, particularly medication discharge summaries, and an intervention of this nature would be widely supported.

We believe this would be a positive contribution that the hospital sector could make to medication safety in Australia and we look forward to your response.



In the meantime, if you have any questions please contact Joanna Ong, Program Manager – Quality Care, on (03) 8699 0599 or at <a href="mailto:joanna.ong@racgp.org.au">joanna.ong@racgp.org.au</a>.

Yours sincerely

Dr Bastian Seidel

President

Dr Evan Ackermann

Chair, RACGP Expert Committee - Quality Care

CC:

President of the Royal Australian College of Physicians (RACP), Dr Catherine Yelland

Dean of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) Faculty Pain Medicine Board (NSW), Dr Chris Hayes

President of the Royal Australian College of Surgeons (RACS), Mr John Batten